Tuesday, July 31, 2012


The sixth round of the Cork Graded T&F League, sponsored by John Buckley Sports, which took place at the CIT saw some fine sprinting and a number of personal bests recorded in the two 1500m races. 

Thomas O’Sullivan of Leevale ran 22 seconds flat in the first 200m with Daniel Colbert of Midleton recording 22.36 and Kaodi Ogbene on 22.65.
Kieran Kelly of Raheny Shamrock broke the 50-second barrier in the 400m with Denis Coughlan (St Finbarr’s) – who ran a personal best of 1:56.12 for 800m at the Morton Games last Wednesday – third in 52.84.

Chris Harrington has made a remarkable progression from road runner to track athlete in recent weeks and he showed his new-found speed with a good win in the 1500m, his 4:02.61 just edging out teammate John Shine, 4:03.08. For good measure, Harrington also won the ‘B’ 400m in a time of 55:71. 

Two masters having excellent runs in the 1500m were Tony Kelleher and Michael Murphy. Kelleher finished third overall in 4:03.58 while Murphy clocked 4:43.84 in the second race. It is worth noting that both ran faster than the winners of their respective M40 and M55 categories in the British Masters Championships the previous week.

Andrea Bickerdike ran 26.10 in the 200m and the Leevale athlete also won her long jump event with a leap of 1.30.

The penultimate meeting takes place on Saturday August 11, again at the CIT starting at 2.30pm, with the following events on the programme: 100m; 200m; 800m; 5,000m; 400m hurdles; high jump; pole vault; triple jump; shot putt; javelin.  

200m (Race 1): 1 T O’Sullivan (Leevale) 22.00; 2 D Colbert (Midleton (Midleton) 22.36; 3 K Ogbene (Leevale) 22.65.
200m (Race 2): 1 M Deady (Ferrybank) 23.51; 2 P Shannon (Menapians) 23.99; 3 E O’Carroll (St Brendans) 24.28… 6 A Bickerdike (Leevale, F) 26.10; 7 J Morrison (Spa Muckross) 26.62; 8 E Lynch (Newport) 27.28.
400m (Race 1): 1 K Kelly (Raheny) 49.30; 2 C Lynch (Iveragh) 50.86; 3 D Coughlan (St Finbarrs) 52.84.
400m (Race 2): 1 C Harrington (Leevale) 55.71; 2 D Roche (St Brendans) 58.40; 3 J White (St Michaels) 59.95.
1500m (Race 1): 1 C Harrington (Leevale) 4:02.61; 2 J Shine (Leevale) 4:03.08; 3 T Kelleher (Togher, M40) 4:03.58… 14 A Quaid (Leevale) 4:46.08.
1500m (Race 2): 1 J Doran (Templemore) 4:35.51; 2 H O’Brien (West Waterford) 4:39.51; 3 P Roche (Carrick) 4:42.65… 4 M Murphy (St Finbarrs, M55) 4:43.84… 6 C Finn (Leevale, F) 4:47.82… 8 N Roe (Eagle, F) 4:49.11; 9 A-M Holland (Eagle, F35) 4:54.80.
2000m Steeplechase: 1 K Wilmot (Bandon) 7:15.91; 2 D Murphy (St Finbarrs) 7:35.10.
High Jump: 1 PG Galvin (St Brendans) 1.86; 2 K Ogbene (Leevale) 1.55; 3 D Coughlan (St Finbarrs) 1.40… 4 A Bickerdike (Leevale, F) 1.30;
Long Jump: 1 K Ogbene (Leevale) 5.63; 2 PJ Galvin (St Brendans) 5.62; 3 R Bennett (CIT) 5.39… 4 J Morrison (Spa Mucross, F) 4.93.
Discus: 1 B Hayes (Leevale) 30;36; 2 P McSweeney (Bandon) 30.09.
Hammer: 1 L McSweeney (Bandon, F) 44.36; 2 P McSweeney (Bandon) 41.60; 3 B Hayes (Leevale) 29.54.
Medley Relay (200m, 200m, 400m, 800m): 1 Leevale 3:52.3; 2 CIT 3:54.4; 3 S Brendans 4:18.7.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: 021 4272722

More Cork Sport

VIDEO: Fan-tastic memories from Croke Park

More by this Journalist

Glen gearing up for Douglas challenge